Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning “wheel”. A chakra is like a vortex: a constantly revolving wheel of energy. These vortexes connect the subtle bodies and act as transducers for life-force energy.

The chakras distribute the life force through the physical and subtle bodies. They are the source of physical, emotional, mental and spiritual energy.

Traditionally, there are seven major chakras associated with the physical body. They are aligned with the spine and located in the base of the spine, the lower abdomen (sacral), the solar plexus, the heart, the throat, the centre of the forehead (third eye), and the crown of the head.

When our chakras are blocked, or not in balance, the free flow of energy is impeded, leading to physical, emotional, mental or spiritual dis-ease. When the chakras are unblocked and free-flowing, we enjoy optimum health.

Each chakra is associated with specific colours and crystals and governs different aspects of human emotion and behaviour. Using gemstones with the chakras can have a great healing effect.

Balancing The Chakra’s

Crystals can be used for balancing and healing our chakras. To do this, you will need seven stones – one for the colour of each chakra.

BASE CHAKRA – 1st Chakra

Located at the base of the spine. Colour is red (representing passion for life) or black (signifying stability or grounding).

Governed by the adrenal glands, it looks after our bones, teeth, nails, spinal column, anus, rectum, colon, prostate gland, blood and cell building.

The base chakra controls our “grounding” to the earth and is associated with all our survival instincts and self-preservation. Relates also to the physical body, individuality, stability and security.

Gemstones : Smoky Quartz, Tourmaline,Obsidian, Jet Stone, Onyx, Hematite, Red Tiger Eye, Red Garnet, Jasper, Agate, Black kyanite, Araagonite, Labradorite, Seraphinite, Pyrite, Red Spinel, Red Coral, Ruby.

SACRAL CHAKRA – 2nd Chakra

Located at about three inches below the navel. Colour is orange (representing creativity and wisdom).

Governed by the gonads, it looks after our pelvic girdle, reproductive organs, kidneys, bladder and all body liquids.

The sacral chakra is associated with our relationships with others, our ability in giving and receiving, sexual / passionate love, and our creativity.

Gemstones : Amber, Citrine, Carnelian, Breciated Jasper, Orange Kyanite, Peach Moonstone, Sunstone, Orange Coral, Tourmaline, Agate, Rutile Quartz, Pyrite, Ruby.


Located just below the ribs. Colour is yellow (representing analytical thought and intellectual activity).

Governed by the pancreas, it looks after our lower back, abdomen, digestive system, stomach, liver, spleen, gallbladder and nervous system.

The solar plexus chakra is our emotional centre. It aids in control of the “digestion of life”, thus the power and control over our lives.

Gemstones : Citrine, Iron Pyrite, Yellow Topaz, Yellow Sapphire,Tiger Eye, Rutile Quartz, Aragonite, Amber, Rhodocrosite( Calming ), Fire Opal.

HEART CHAKRA – 4th Chakra

Located at centre of chest at the level of the heart. Colour is green (representing healing and balance) or pink (signifying unconditional love and compassion).

Governed by the thymus gland, it looks after our heart, upper back, lower lungs, blood, circulatory system and the skin.

The heart chakra is about unconditional love, connection, acceptance, transformation and powerful healing. It is the centre of compassion, love, group consciousness and spirituality associated with a “oneness” with “all that is”. It balances and bridges between the lower three chakras and the upper three chakras.

Gemstones : Rose Quartz, Aventurine, Emerald, Jade, Kunzite, Malachite, Peridot, Tourmaline, Morganite, Ruby, Garnet, Rhodonite, Rhodochrosite, Pink Coral, Fluorite, Chrysocolla, Chrysophase, Muscovite, Green Kyanite, Moonstone, Phrenite, Green Kyanite.

THROAT CHAKRA – 5th Chakra

Located at the throat. Colour is blue (representing knowledge of, and oneness with, divine guidance).

Governed by the thyroid gland, it looks after our neck, throat and jaw, vocal chords, respiratory system, alimentary canal and arms.

The throat chakra is our communication centre, thus giving us our ability to verbally express ourselves and to be able to have open, clear communication of feelings and thoughts. Ability to release. It is the gateway to the Higher Consciousness and the gateway through which the emotions contained in the heart pass, to become balanced and harmonised.

Gemstones : Blue Apatite, Aquamarine, Lapiz Lazuli,Turquoise, Calcedony, Blue Lace Agate, Blue Kyanite, Azurite, Amethyst, Blue Topaz, Tourmaline, Amber, Kunzite, Lepidolite, Blue Opal, Labradorite, Iolite, Blue Moonstone, Blue Sapphire, Tanzanite, Blue Fluorite, Amazonite, Dumortierite, Sodalite.


Located between and approximately one finger space above the brow. Colour is indigo (representing the search and attainment of spiritual purpose).

Governed by the pituitary gland, it looks after our face, left eye, ears, nose, sinuses, cerebellum (lower brain) and central nervous system.

The third eye chakra is involved with our intuition and our inner seeing, our higher consciousness, emotional and spiritual love centre.

Gemstones : Amethyst, Blue Sapphire, Sodalite,Moldavite, Lapiz Lazuli, Herkimer Diamond, Garnet, Tourmaline, Purple Fluorite, Kunzite, Lepidolite, Azurite, Blue Kyanite, Iolite, Sugilite,

CROWN CHAKRA – 7th Chakra

Located at the crown of the head. Colour is violet (representing enlightenment) or white (signifying purity, perfection and bliss).

Governed by the pineal gland, it looks after our cerebrum (upper brain) and right eye.

The crown chakra is the centre of an individual’s spirituality, enlightenment, dynamic thoughts and energy – our very essence. It allows for the inward flow of wisdom from the ethers and brings the gift of cosmic consciousness. When stimulated and clear, it enables one to see the truth concerning illusory ideals, materialistic pursuits and self-limiting concepts. It further allows one to experience continuous self-awareness and conscious detachment from personal emotions.

  • Menu
  • Categories
0 Wishlist

Your Cart 0


Shopping cart is empty!

Continue Shopping